Newbie with an M plate "Update possibly for sale"

Anything about BXs
lateestate

Newbie with an M plate "Update possibly for sale"

Post by lateestate »

Hello all,

Im paul from birmingham, i am a motor trader for a living but i am a life long old/classic car fan and currently have quite a few projects at different stages of restoration, in my job i mainly deal with newer cars but as i have a keen interest in older/odd/rare stuff the garages i deal with always bear me in mind when something pops up.
Thats enough about me now let me tell you of my latest find, i went to a citroen dealership to veiw some part exchanges yesterday and while i was there the managers said " oh theres an old BX out in the yard that you might want to look at"
Im not really into citroens although i drive a berlingo van as a daily and think its great. I cant remember the last time i saw a BX on the road so i grabbed the keys and went for a look, to my surprise the car is on an M plate (cant remember seeing one that late) its a 94 M BX 17 TZD estate car in white with 3 owners and reading 136k miles, its very dirty and seems to have not been washed in a very long time, it has a citroen towbar and although filthy and tatty lokking it appears to be very original having had only the two offside doors painted and the paint is crazed/peeling on these panels. I started the car up and it sounds really good, i drove it and the only faults i noticed are the stop lights on the dash are on, its a bit bouncy/vague on the nearside suspension and on investigation i noticed an occasional hiss and a leak/squirting of LHM fluid coming from the front of the engine bay down by the bellhousing and rad, looks like its some kind of valve, could this be the cause of the suspension bounce ? i must admit i had forgot how nippy these are for an old diesel.