BX17 TZD Turbo Estate.

BX Tech talk
Peugeot/Citroen Mutant

BX17 TZD Turbo Estate.

Post by Peugeot/Citroen Mutant »

Hello all. I am new to BX's and this is my first post on this wonderfull site.

my name is steve im 23 and from Northern Ireland and up untill this point my favourite cars were AX's

but i recently picked up a green BX TD estate for £50 with tax and MOT and i have to say i love it alot.

i have fixed the rear boot- lid and changed the filthy airfilter.

everything is great and the suspension seems to be working as it should and the brakes are very good.

the only problem i seem to have is the boost only seems to come in sometimes and not others.

the car can be painfully slow one minute, and be quite fast the next.

it never seems to have any urgency in first gear but sometimes in 2nd and 3rd it is really quite fast?

i hope its not the turbo? any help would really be appreciated. thanks i have no pics yet but here is myself and my two cousins fitting a 100 bhp 1.3 into a 600 kg ax lol im the mad looking one with the cap onImage
1989 World Record Title

for the worlds most economical production car

goes to the AX 1.4d with over 100 mpg.

it drove from dover to barcelona on one tank. (45 litres)
Tourist
BXpert

Re: BX17 TZD Turbo Estate.

Post by Tourist »

Welcome ...
Peugeot/Citroen Mutant wrote:it never seems to have any urgency in first gear but sometimes in 2nd and 3rd it is really quite fast?
From what I've experienced with my BX, the turbo boost comes in at a different point in different gears, and it's not set in stone. Generally I don't get much surge in 1st, if any. 2nd is a little better, and in 3rd+ the boost is normal and comes in at about 2000 revs. I would put this down to the shortness of the lower gears, especially 1st. But I might be wrong.