I'm no electrician

BX Tech talk
Kitch
Over 2k
My Cars: Too many to list

I'm no electrician

Post by Kitch »

In fact I know FA about electrics. But I'm doing an engine conversion in the Saxo I drive and the main issue so far is that the car originall ran a cooling fan setup that was controlled by the ECU, which in turn took it's signal from the two coolant sensors in the head (which controlled fuel mixture, the gauge etc etc)
Now the setup I'm fitting doesn't have this. Instead the fan is run off a standard 3 pin switch ala the BX. Three pins I'm guessing one being earth, the pther two operating the fans at varying speeds dependant on temperature?

This means the car I'm fitting that to has no wiring loom in place for such a setup, and the earlier car is all hard wired into the main loom/fuse box.

Now, having been faffing around I sat down and wondered if this simple but crude setup below would work correctly. Any ideas anyone?

mat_fenwick

Re: I'm no electrician

Post by mat_fenwick »

Kitch wrote:I sat down and wondered if this simple but crude setup below would work correctly.
Nope. But it would work if you replaced the earth to the relay (top left) with a 12V feed. If you want the fan to run even with the ignition off use a constant 12V, if not use an ignition switched feed. That way the current will flow to earth through the temperature switch when either the 'hot', or 'very hot' contacts are closed, closing the contacts in the relay on and allowing the fan to run.

1993 1.9 TZD Turbo Estate
1996 3.9 V8 Discovery
1993 VW LT35 campervan
1985 Hyundai Stellar V8
2016 Hyundai iLoad
Way2go
Over 2k

Re: I'm no electrician

Post by Way2go »

mat_fenwick wrote:
Kitch wrote:I sat down and wondered if this simple but crude setup below would work correctly.
Nope. But it would work if you replaced the earth to the relay (top left) with a 12V feed.