Windscreen replacement ??

BX Tech talk
olddormouse

Windscreen replacement ??

Post by olddormouse »

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie to BX forums although I've had a few over the years. My BX 19 Diesel Auto has a terminal windscreen crack from top passenger side to lower edge. I don't have windscreen cover.

Haynes helpfully says "If you have the misfortune to need a new window take it to a Citroen dealer" I've just fitted side windows to my C15 van here in France but appreciate the BX windscreen is a whole different ball game. Is it do-able and if so what trouble spots do I need to look out for.

I'm an old timer who used to just lie on my back in the days of yore and simply push windows out but all this bonding is scary. Any advice welcome. Only quote so far is €336 and as I only paid £350 for my lovely car I'm more than a little reluctant.

:oops: [/list]
scarecrow

Post by scarecrow »

Hello :)

I wonder if you couldn't find a scrappy with a BX with a good screen and ask the friendly scrap man if he'd be willing to fit it?

I suppose there's always the option to get windscreen cover on your insurance, wait a while, and then get them to fix it. It depends if your conscience can be bought for 400 euros :wink:

That does sound an awful lot of money though. You could just have a go yourself, and if it goes tits-up, pay someone to finish it off for you... I'm sure someone on this forum will be able to offer good technical hints and tips to get the job done.

Good luck
mat_fenwick

Post by mat_fenwick »

A few years ago I got a quote from Autoglass just to take out and refit the same screen in two visits (not on a BX) so I could weld around the screen aperture. This would have been £50, so if you can find a second hand screen then fitting it and removal of the old shouldn't be too costly, assuming similar firms exist in France.