Oil in air filter, plus oil leak?

BX Tech talk
Wooscary
BXpert

Oil in air filter, plus oil leak?

Post by Wooscary »

Obviously this kind of thing is asked all the time, but I can't find anything specific about oil in air filters, so I'll start my question with that:

The only time I've ever had oil in an air filter was with my first car where I got a little carried away and over filled the oil and a fair amount of it made itself comfortable in the filter.

The TZD has not been overfilled while I've had it, but there is definitely some lovely sludgy oil in the bottom of the air box and a bit in the filter. Should it be there?

The oil leak is really starting to annoy me, I'm going to attempt some photographs below. You'll have to be gentle with me, as I'm no expert and don't have a Haynes to identify parts/what parts are called. It seems to be originating from what I think is the rocker cover and around the injectors. It then obviously goes everywhere below and behind that point, but I think that's the highest point.

1b by Wooscary

So, if anyone has any thoughts that would be great. Would a oily air filter also account in part for the noticeable amount of smoke when accelerating?

Many thanks

Martin
Gibbo2286
BXpert

Post by Gibbo2286 »

Most likely this regulator has failed causing a pressure build up in the crankcase, No3 in the picture, you'll find it on the end of the intercooler in the breather pipes on the turbo cars. Citroen part number 0361 58 about £30 in the dealers.

That is of course if the piston rings/bores aren't worn out. Gibbo.

Wooscary
BXpert

Post by Wooscary »

Thanks. I'm not quite sure which half of my question you are providing an answer for however. And cannot figure out where that diagram matches up under the bonnet.

Looking at that, the part doesn't look especially hard to fit, and isn't the most expensive thing ever.