LHM indicator above max

BX Tech talk
merlyn
BXpert

LHM indicator above max

Post by merlyn »

I've just been to check my LHM and the indicator is right up at the top of the glass bulb. Last time I checked itnwas around the max level. Is this an indicator of a problem and if so what should I do now? Don't get too technical on me, I'm just learning. :?

I now have an MOT (not a cheap one but at least it's done).

Jane
1992 BX 1.6 TXi automatic Bleu Sirene
(now sadly gone)

1999 Xantia 1.8 SX automatic Gris Quartz
Way2go
Over 2k

Re: LHM indicator above max

Post by Way2go »

Don't forget that if you filled it up correctly with the car on "high" then the indicator will show higher than this when the car is set to "normal". Always perform this check on "high". :)
1991 BX19GTi Auto
merlyn
BXpert

Post by merlyn »

I checked it on "high" and last time I checked it/topped it up it was on "high". It doesn't go down when I drop to the normal driving level.
(now sadly gone)

Paul296
Over 2k
My Cars: Citroen BX 17 TZD Hurricane
Citroen BX 17 TGD

Post by Paul296 »

I might get shot down in flames for this, but I always assumed a bit too much LHM wasn't really a problem, but that too little was. I've always found that even with a car with no leaks whatsoever it finds a way to shed a bit of LHM and sort itself out. I'm sure there'll be better advice that though Jane and delighted to hear your car now has a years ticket - you know it makes sense! :D
Way2go
Over 2k

Post by Way2go »

merlyn wrote:I checked it on "high" and last time I checked it/topped it up it was on "high". It doesn't go down when I drop to the normal driving level.
No that's the point. it won't go down when you move to "normal" it will try to go up. It could be you've overfilled it but that's not likely to be a problem except for spills.