BX 14RE - starved of fuel?

BX Tech talk
tranentbx
Confirmed BX'er

BX 14RE - starved of fuel?

Post by tranentbx »

Hi,

I've been running a totally fault free 14RE for the past two years until yesterday!

Here's the problem:

The old dear starts fine and drives as normal until it's warmed up and I start working the manual choke in. A soon as the choke is fully in, the motor struggles to get above idle revs and feels like it's starved of fuel and doesn't go anywhere fast. As soon as I pull the choke back out a bit, it drives and revs as normal.

Obviously, I don't want to drive with the choke out all the time so am wondering if anyone has any ideas what the problem could be?

The fuel line/filter looks clear etc. I've not had the carburettor off to check the float tank or the needle valve etc but I've got a feeling it'll be something in there that needs sorted....

Just wondered if anyone had any similar problems? Any help or suggestions greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Tinkley
1K Away

Re: BX 14RE - starved of fuel?

Post by Tinkley »

Which engine 14RE is it?. My old 14RE was a 150C engine and it had a few problems after high mileage.
The comments below refer to that engine but may be pertinent to the later TU type engine.

1. Check the fuel filter which should be transparent is 80%+ full, if not suspect the fuel pump.

2. If you have changed plugs recently, change the HT leads - the 150C engine eats them for breakfast. Usually a definite misfire if it is the leads, check the ends but they can be fine and still shot. On this engine 150c I recommend the old copper core leads for long life.

3. Check distributor cap and rotor arm, they normally do around 30-35k OK but show signs of wear/pitting. Try the cap for sparking in the dark if you can watch and someone turns it over.

4. Change the plugs if not done within 12k.