Rear arm bearings and rear calipers

BX Tech talk
94xm

Rear arm bearings and rear calipers

Post by 94xm »

Hi,

Im fairly new to actually worrying about my girlfriends bx but having driven it im a touch conserned.
It survives on no maintenance and very rarely gives us anything to worry about...

I have read about the rear arms bearings wearing, and at the same time have noticed that the rear wheels have a fair amount of negative camber on them too, the car is coming up for the 1/4 million now and we have never touched them. It doesnt creak or show any signs of stiffness on the back suspension but it has started making a knocking noise, fairly loud fron the rear susp. After looking it seemed to me the exhaust may be hitting the rear anti roll bar, but all the exhaust mounts are good and the exhaust has not moved,so does as the rear arms wear cause the anti roll bar to move down?

Is it an expensive job to have them done, as it passed its last mot not too long back and given the mileage is surviving on mostly luck. The rear tyres seem to have worn out very quick too but the rear spheres are newish with plenty of bounce

The other problem is after treating it to a rare oil /filter change and new front brake pads, the rear ones gave me a problem. The single bolt that hold the pad is siezed in the caliper and i cant move it out. It has a nut on the back of it which i took off but does it also screw into the ally caliper?

Are the bolts available as i think it may destroy it to remove it.

Thanks for any help.

cheers
Mark
tom
Citroen Sorceror
My Cars: 2003- Passe-Partout 1.9 TGD estate
2005 Grolliffe Tizzydee turbo estate and sundry other BXs and Grace, a CX TRD.
2008 to 2023 - all sorts of stuff, some interesting
2024. TxD 1.9D estate. 'Wheelybin'

Post by tom »