Supercharging a 16V?

BX Tech talk
tim leech

Supercharging a 16V?

Post by tim leech »

Is it possible to do it, purely just a question, im no mechanic, one of the lads at work has done his VR6 Corrado and it wasnt that difficult and the effects are astounding (100bhp more), he substituted the A/C pump for the superchager, my 16v has A/C but the pump is removed and it made me think if its possible. Only thing is the pump is on the other side of the engine to the air intake.

I imagine the Mi engine would explode? :shock:
jeremy
Over 2k

Post by jeremy »

The 16 valve was designed to go like a turbo - without one and all its problems like lag.

You'd have to lower the compression ratio to prevent damage from pre-ignition - turbo's of the 80's typically ran something like 7 or 8 to 1. Sometimes this can be done using a thick gasket - I wonder if one of the diesel thick ones would fit and do the job - time for some investigation and calculation.

As for the rest of it - I don't think it would burst - have a look at Puma - the suggestion there is that loads can be done without touching the bottom end.

http://www.pumaracing.co.uk/

Of course the chassis would need some attention as I'd have thought it was somewhere near its limit with 160 BHP.
Way2go
Over 2k

Post by Way2go »

:? Does this correlation with turbocharging apply though Jeremy? Tim is asking about supercharging and that has a direct coupling to the engine and so is more directly engine rpm linked on that basis.
Another question is that with a light car like the BX, can you put the power down if you achieve the increase? :?
1991 BX19GTi Auto
tim leech

Post by tim leech »

The 16v has excellent traction for what it is, its just a case of feeding the power in gently as with all cars.
mat_fenwick

Post by mat_fenwick »