Central locking

BX Tech talk
jwthwaites96
Confirmed BX'er

Central locking

Post by jwthwaites96 »

I'm new to the BX mechanics so recently when my central locking made weird noises I instinctively took the door pannel off and had a look.

I found the noise was coming from the central locking solenoide, so every time the lock unlocked the motor over-ran making an almighty errkkkkrkkk :( sound. Anyways i disconnected this and had a mess around. I found that if i connected the white connector to the solenoide but not the brown connector the central locking all worked but without the motor over running, but if i reattached the brown connector the problem reoccured.

My question is - what does the brown connector do? is it the earth and is there a problem with me leaving it disconnected as long as i wrap it up with electrician tape?

Any advise is welcome.

Cheers
Way2go
Over 2k

Post by Way2go »

Hi John,

Welcome to the forum.

More information is needed to diagnose such a problem, firstly model of car and its year. Have you referred to the circuit diagrams in Haynes? They are reasonable but you need to remember that they are handed the wrong way (ie LHD) which is significant for the locking system especially if the car has a remote ir.

If you remove one of 2 wires from the motor, theoretically it will not work as there is no circuit left so there must be another explanation here. ie are you talking about the drivers door and only operating it manually with a key?
1991 BX19GTi Auto
Vanny
Merseyside resident
My Cars: BX 16v Ph2 - Jazz
BX 16v Ph2 - XPO

Post by Vanny »

W2G, there are TWO connectors (each carrying two wires) on the posh spec BX's. The white connector is for the central locking/motor power. The other connector (brown in colour) is for the 'door open warning light' on the little display to the right of the coin holder.