Catastrophic hydrolic failure. Low height, no brakes &no

BX Tech talk
jthomsit

Catastrophic hydrolic failure. Low height, no brakes &no

Post by jthomsit »

Hi all,

A plea to the infinite wisdom of the members here... I've been reading posts for a couple of days now and am fairly sure the response is going to be to first try - drain, flush and refill but before I embark on this I thought to seek a second opinion as I've never worked on hydropneumatic suspension before.

My Car

I've had my BX for a year, done very few miles but never the less my regular drive. No major problems (more later) with the hyrodlics ever and handling was great. It's a 16v gti 1990.

Potential Warning
I confess I've been stupid! When I was driving too enthusiastically, occassionally the STOP light would biefly light (along with the hydrolic light) but would go off almost instantainiously. I just assumed it was sloshing around and getting low... I never checked the level. No funny noises. The PAS would go hard every nown and again but again it was intermittant and never caused me problems (the STOP light did not light when the steering went heavy)

The Trigger
So... I, showing off to a friend, but the car on it's maximum height, no problems... Then put it on it's lowest height. I hadn't noticed because I had been out of the car but the STOP light and hydrolic light lit.

The Symptom
It now won't go back up to the normal setting, there's no PAS and no brakes. There's no clicking. I've tried moving the lever. There is green fluid in the resevoir but can't get a proper reading as it's on lowest setting (the indicator is above max). On the clear pipe from the front into the reservoir, I noticed a yellowish (they're yellow pipes) liquid very slowly moving up (as there was an air bubble at about 5mm per sec) . I didn't notice it clicking at all.

Oh nutz, it was such a fun car....