Hot Shutdown

BX Tech talk
Gareth Wales
BXpert

Hot Shutdown

Post by Gareth Wales »

What sort of time is reckoned to be adequate to avoid a hot shutdown of a turbo engine - I really can't see how a couple of minutes would be enough to allow "cooler" oil to circulate. But of course, I have no knowledge to support this. Neither do I know why a hot shutdown is injurious.
st gilles

Post by st gilles »

It depends what you mean by hot shutdown....if you are coming into a services off the motorway and stop immediately having been on turbo for a few miles you will 'cook' the oil around the turbo and eventually have problems. If as most people do, you leave the 'fast' road and travel for a few miles at lower speeds without the turbo being on then you can turn it off when you arrive at your destination without waiting the 30 secs or so you would need at the M/way services as above.
jeremy
Over 2k

Post by jeremy »

I adjusted my end of journey or stop routine - so that I turn off the radio, shut the windows, undo my belt etc. then turn the engine off last as a matter of course.

The idea is to make sure the rotor is not spinning when the oil feed is cut - and of course that its nott so hot that the oil decomposes.
Stewart (oily!)
1K Away

Post by Stewart (oily!) »