Spec Question

Anything about BXs
hvanman
BXpert

Spec Question

Post by hvanman »

Hi, I am new to the BX scene and trying to track down a suitable car, but I'm not up to speed on the various different models.

I am looking at an ad for a BX 17 TGD saloon 1990. Would this be a turbo 17? If not, I am concerned it may struggle a bit compaired to a 19 diesel?

Many thanks, Simon
Tim Leech
Over 2k
My Cars: Various

Post by Tim Leech »

Hi Simon,

If its a "17TGD" its a 1769cc NON turbo diesel with 60bhp, and probably no power steering, they are frugal and a very sweet engine but no ball of fire.

They did make a turbo diesel version but that should be badged as a TGD TURBO with no mention of the engine size on the tailgate, it will have power steering, a rev counter and electric sunroof, none of which the 17TGD has (unless ordered as an option), the rev counter was not available at all.

Tim.
Last edited by Tim Leech on Tue Nov 08, 2011 5:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Lots of Motors, mostly semi broken....
Dollywobbler
Over 2k

Post by Dollywobbler »

A Simon who likes H vans. Trying to work out whether I know you or not...

Compared to an H van, I imagine a 17D would be like lightening! Is this the blue one? I've only got experience of both breeds of 1.9 diesel (65bhp and 71bhp) and its rare that they feel that slow - depending on how fast you want to go in the first place.

Ian
hvanman
BXpert

Post by hvanman »

OK, I will check with the seller, but if not a turbo I had better stick to looking for a 19 (I like the idea of a simpler engine anyway).

Many thanks.
Tim Leech
Over 2k

Post by Tim Leech »

hvanman wrote:OK, I will check with the seller, but if not a turbo I had better stick to looking for a 19 (I like the idea of a simpler engine anyway).

Many thanks.
If its a really nice one, why not go and give it a try, you may be surprised.

The 1.9D can be a better buy though as the power steering and 11 bhp are useful.
hvanman
BXpert

Post by hvanman »