drooping suspension

Anything about BXs
Dadad
Confirmed BX'er
My Cars: 1990 Citroen BX19 GTi, daily driver. 1990 Peugeot 205 GTi, a hoot in the summer. 1968 Renault 16 TS, just for summer shows. Citroen C4 Picasso Exclusive to tow the caravan.

drooping suspension

Post by Dadad »

I'm new to BX ownership. The accumulator was new within the last 12 months and I've just had all 4 spheres replaced by Wolsey House Motors.

However, I'm not getting the 'magic ride' I anticipated (it's not as good as my Renault 16) and the back of the car always completely subsides overnight.

Is it supposed to do this ?
Des Smith
1K Away

Re: drooping suspension

Post by Des Smith »

Someone who knows far more than me will be along shortly to give you the full technical answer. What I can tell you is that the BX does sink at the rear and opinions differ as to how long it should stay up. Mine has no leaks and rides well but it goes down overnight.

If you've had new spheres then the problem with the ride shouldn't be related to them unless they are duff items. The accumulator keeps the system pressurised while the engine is running and if there's a loss of pressure in the system you will hear it ticking at short intervals to keep the pressure right.
BX14TE St Tropez 1990 - now sold
Xsara Forte 1.4i 2000
Kawasaki GPz550A4 1987
Way2go
Over 2k

Post by Way2go »

If the BX suspension pumps up then the ride comfort can vary depending on the type of sphere fitted, do you know the spec of sphere that Wolsey fitted in terms of Volume, Nitrogen Pressure and size of Damper Orifice? It may be that they used the firmer spheres intended for the GTi. What model of BX do you have?

It's possible that you have other mechanical issues on linkages/Struts contributing to your problems but as the spheres are mostly responsible for ride comfort it's worth evaluating them first.