Sunroof leaking

BX Tech talk
thefatman
My Cars: BX 1.9 TGD

Sunroof leaking

Post by thefatman »

Hello

I'm new to BX ownership, bought one last week and i've been enjoying driving it but the sunroof is leaking.

Firstly i've blown through the tubes to make sure they are not clogged up, it was still leaking after this. The rear passenger side seemed to be the worst. Now i've pulled down the headlining and noticed that the rear drain tube loosely pushes into the tray, rather than being sealed in. Is this correct or should it be held / stuck into place?

Thanks for any pointers it'll be nice to enjoy driving it without it being like a swimming pool :D
Dave_16v
BXpert
My Cars: BX 16 Valve Ph 2 Current
BX 16 valve Ph 1 past
BX Gti past
BX Gti Auto past
ZX Volcane keeping others going

Re: Sunroof leaking

Post by Dave_16v »

Logic suggests it should be reasonably firm but it is a long time since I repaired a BX sun roof so I cannot be sure. However, there is some very good info in the link below. You may have blown through but it could still be there is a blockage forming sufficient to back water up.
Interesting it is the rear passenger side too as you will see.

Take a look at the info here
Prefer it to the Lamborghini, like Signor Gandini!
rutter123
Over 2k
My Cars: 90 Bx Tzd turbo ven red 295k
74 D Super 5 black
05 Volvo V50 2.0d 180k
65 Peugeot Boxer work van 280k

Re: Sunroof leaking

Post by rutter123 »