white exec
BXpert
My Cars: 1992 BX19D Millesime
- LHD, NA, AC, RP_5800
1996 XM 2.5TD Exclusive

BX for the second time, hopefully

Post by white exec »

Hi folks,

Newbie here, although have only wandered across the patch a short distance, from FCF.
We've had our white 2.5 XM since new, and she's still with us, having started life in Godalming, Surrey.
Before that, 'twas this:
Spain & Portugal, 1996.JPG
- a Delage red 1989 19RD NA

Now living down here in Andalucia since 2004, rural roads have improved to the extent that we no longer need to negotiate mud, rubble and rock, nor push on along river beds, so it's time for our '03 RAV4 to go. It always was a tad agricultural, although pretty much dependable (if you ignore two failed DMFs, two snapped ARBs, a regularly shearing rear diff mount, and body trims held on by wispy clips). Enough about that; the affair has ended.

So, I now long for some simple Citroen comfort and smooth diesel for our daily, and so am looking for a BX. After mastering (so far) the complexities of a Hydractive II XM, looking after just 5 non-HA spheres will be a nice change. It has to be hydropneumatic, and I've read enough about C5 to know not to go there. In any case, the XM is here to stay, so do not want to duplicate that.

BX needs to be facelift, diesel, turbo or NA, manual, good bodily condition, and with AC. This last is important.

There are very few BX's for sale in Spain, and they can be anything between €1 and €3000. Almost all are without AC, but a few have it. I have pretty much exhausted what is advertised here, having seen two (drove best part of 1000 miles to see one this week, but there were complications with the seller). Plenty in France, but I would have to pay several hundred euros as an import and re-registration tax. May still have to do that.

The other possibility is to buy a tidy non-AC car, and fit the AC kit. This opens up a few Spanish purchase options.