BX central locking problems

BX Tech talk
BX_dizwol

BX central locking problems

Post by BX_dizwol »

Hello guys and gals,

My name is James, and im a Noob! Heres my BX 17 tzd -

Now i love this car to bits, its a smooth quiet 60mpg magic carpet. But today its let me down :(

The stereo in the car was always a little strange, it had a ghost in it that would retune the radio and adjust the volume as i was listening :? so i decided to change it and send the old one to a nice priest :wink:

As i was playing the electrics i disconnected the battery, always a safe move. Then the stereo came out and there were the speaker wires, one yellow and one grey wire.

The problem is that now its removed the central locking wont work, very strange indeed. Even more strange is that the grey wire is earth, and the yellow that im assuming is the live dosent have any power?

Any ideas guys? I cant use it at the moment as the boot only seems to lock with the central locking :(

If anyone has the wiring diagram for a BX 17 tzd and can put it online, i owuld be eternally greatfull (sp?).

Thanks in advance

J
tim leech

Post by tim leech »

Hmm strange, im no mechanic but sounds like you may have blown a fuse? when you reconnected the battery did it all go back on as it should, no wires dangling?

Must say your BX looks great and wel cared for, wlecome to the club!
docchevron
The Immoderate half of the admin team

Post by docchevron »

Welcome along matey!

Great looking car.
Does seem odd. Unless someones been hacking the wiring about the stereo shouldn't have any effect on the C/locking. :?:

I'd defo start with the easy things, check the fuses first. if they all check out and you have access to a voltmeter make sure there's power getting to the central locking "black box", located next to the hand brake lever under the centre consol.
Just a thought but maybe worth removing the stereo and making sure nothing was diturbed when it was fitted, i.e. connectors etc....

Cheers
Chris G