Brake pads

BX Tech talk
stuart_hedges
1K Away

Brake pads

Post by stuart_hedges »

Dammit - things always come at the wrong time. My brake pad warning light has just started coming on and I'm going away to Oxfordshire for the weekend. Halfords is the only place round here on a Sunday and they don't have them in stock, so I think the only option will be to pick them up on Thursday morning before I set off and do the job on the campsite while I'm there... or possibly on mnde's drive on my way back! How long have I got left in the pads once the light's on? Is it too risky to do 150 motorway miles on them?

I've never done pads on a BX before, oddly. Is there anything particular I need to know, or any special tools I need to take with me?
Kitch
Over 2k
My Cars: Too many to list

Post by Kitch »

Depends how hard you brake! 150miles is probably pushing it, but the worst that'll happen is that you'll grind through to the metal, your braking efficiency will reduce by about half and you'll grind the discs into oblivion. Luckily the discs are also cheap if that happens (though not from Halfords!!!)

They're easy enough to change, but I can never get the anti rattle springs back in....its a really stupid design! So every time I reverse and hot the brakes I get a clonk! :lol:

Just make sure you put the little bar back in the right way round, otherwise the pads can fall out.
One third of a three-spoke BX columnist team for the Citroenian magazine.

CCC BX registrar: The national BX register - click to submit a car!

1983(A) 16TRS (Rouge Valleunga)
1990(H) 16Valve (Rouge Furio)
stuart_hedges
1K Away

Post by stuart_hedges »

I've ordered a set from GSF. With a bit of luck they'll arrive in time for me to do the job on Wednesday evening before I set off on Thursday morning.
DavidRutherford
BX Digit man!

Re: Brake pads

Post by DavidRutherford »

stuart_hedges wrote:How long have I got left in the pads once the light's on?
Loads.