BX17 TZD issues

BX Tech talk
tlampre
Confirmed BX'er

BX17 TZD issues

Post by tlampre »

Hello all, this is my first post, although I have lurked here for quite a while.

I am the new owner of the BX17 TZD formerly owned by Roscoe. It's not my first BX, I've had petrol engined cars before, a 16TRS, a 19TRi and a 16v.

While working on it this weekend I noticed that the crankshaft pulley has a wobble. Unfortunately it was too late in the day to jack the car back up and see if it just needed tightening.

If I need to replace it, are they the same as that used on the petrol cars or will I need to import one?

Also, I want to replace the coolant hoses behind the engine as my main driving is a 1500km return trip interstate every few weeks. Summer is coming and that means the occasional 40C+ day. I've been doing this for over three years now and lost more cars due to cooling system failures than anything else so I'm a bit paranoid about it.

There are three hoses with stainless steel braiding. I have managed to acquire 2, but the third, the longest one, remains elusive. Can anyone advise a part number and where I might be able to buy it by mail order to Australia?

Thanks and regards,
Trevor
toddao
BXpat

Post by toddao »

Hello and welcome,

Is that the only diesel BX in Aus? If the camshaft pulley is wobbling this also begs the question what is the condition of the cam-belt? Unless you know when it was changed, better to change that or if it was changed recently-ish, perhaps the pulleys were neglected?